Tech Desk: WhatsApp is silently working on its new feature name Expiring Messages in which the messages will be automatically deleted a set duration. The feature also called ‘Disappearing Messages’ is expected to be added to WhatsApp in the near future.
The WABetaInfo spotted a document which discussed the expected upcoming feature. According to the document, users could set the time duration after which messages from chat history of sender and receiver would be deleted.
The feature will be working in both individual chat-box or and group chats. However, only the group admins could enable or disable the feature in the groups.
Similarly, apart from Disappearing Messages feature, Whatsapp also intends to introduce another new feature in which messages would be deleted after seven days if the same are not opened or read during the seven days.
Regarding Disappearing Messages, WhatsApp says that this feature would also be included in backups. If a user backs up their WhatsApp chat during the seven days but the chat would be deleted when the backup is restored.
Though the messages would disappear the users can take a screenshot to save the messages for the record. The feature of Disappearing Messages would also be applicable on media files but if the auto-download option is turned on then media files will be saved to the gallery even if the message is deleted from the chat.
After the introduction of the feature, the users can tap on a contact name to enable Disappearing Messages. The feature would be available for Android, iOS, KaiOS, Web and Desktop users. It has, however, could not be ascertained when the feature would be rolled out by the WhatsApp.
How it works:
Following are the steps to turn disappearing messages on or off:
- Open the WhatsApp chat
- Tap the contact’s name for which user wants to turn on or off the disappearing messages.
- Tap the Disappearing Messages option.
- If prompted, tap Continue.
- Select On/ Off as required.
The steps are similar for group chat but instead of tapping on the contact, the user will have to tap the group’s name.